Hockey Fights Cancer Night a success

It was Hockey Fights Cancer Night at Tundra Oil and Gas Place on Thursday evening during the Oil Caps game.

To kick off festivities last night, Oil Caps players wore special purple warm-up jerseys during the pre-game skate. The jerseys were then auctioned off with the proceeds going to the Canadian Cancer Society. A total of $3,410 was raised and will be given to the Canadian Cancer Society to help continue the fight against cancer.

“The Oil Caps organization is proud to be a part of this great initiative,” said Jamie Hodson, director of business and hockey operations for the Oil Caps. “Everyone has been affected by cancer in some way, shape or form, so any way our organization can join in on the fight against it, we’re going to do it.”

The night also included a special puck drop ceremony just prior to the game getting underway. Rod Tutkaluke (in photo), Westman Community representative for the Canadian Cancer Society, was invited to drop the puck with the two team captains.

“It was an honour to be invited to be a part of the Hockey Fights Cancer evening last night in Virden with the Oil Caps,” said Tutkaluke. “The money raised will help fund the most promising research and programs and services of the Canadian Cancer Society so no one battles cancer alone.  On behalf of all Manitobans living with cancer and their families, we sincerely thank you. It was a wonderful evening.”

The Oil Caps also produced a short video that was played during the pre-game ceremonies as well. Click here to watch.

All in all, a great night and it was capped off with an Oil Caps 5-4 win in overtime against the Waywayseecappo Wolverines!

The following is a list of those who were the jersey bid winners last night:

Virden Ford – #1 MCVEIGH

Roxanne Pawluk – #27 PAWLUK

HutchAg – #17 LYCAR

Comfort Inn & Suites – #15 HORE

Jack Welsh – #20 DALKE

Shawn Studer – #21 KNORR

Laura Gatey – #9 EINARSON

Rick Smith – #11 SALAWAY; #35 DOSCH; #2 LEE

Gary Rhodes – #29 KANASKI

Glen Katchin – #23 COCHRANE

Ryan Kyle – #13 BECKER

Brock Koop – #8 CROSS; #25 CLOUTIER

Kelvin Siemens – #6 THIESSEN; #12 KIRKUP

Clifford Whittle – #16 BELCHER

Brenda Hayward – #5 SAMBROOK

Ann Magwood – #14 MAGWOOD

Perry Meikle – #24 WOJCIECHOWSKI

Marjorie Andrew – #7 ANDREW