Kirkup, Lee, Leslie nominated for MJHL awards

Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The respective winners will be announced later this week. The Mike

Clockwise: Tyler Kirkup, Justin Lee and head coach Troy Leslie of the Oil Caps have been nominated for MJHL awards.

Ridley Award, given to league’s top point producer, will be known when the regular season comes to an end.

The award finalists are:

 MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy

Dexter Kuczek               Winnipeg Blues
Tyler Kirkup                    Virden Oil Capitals
Troy Martyniuk              Winkler Flyers

Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy

Justin Lee                       Virden Oil Capitals
Matthew Thiessen       Steinbach Pistons
Matthew Osadick         Swan Valley Stampeders

Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Frank McKinnon Memorial Trophy

Jeremey Leipsic                Portage Terriers
Drew Worrad                    Steinbach Pistons
Keaton Jameson              Swan Valley Stampeders

Top Goaltender Award

Emilien Boily                   OCN Blizzard
Troy Martyniuk              Winkler Flyers
Matthew Thiessen         Steinbach Pistons

Top Defenceman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy

Mackenzie Dwyer            Portage Terriers
Darby Gula                        Steinbach Pistons
Mitch Dyck                        Winkler Flyers

Top Scorer Award – Mike Ridley Trophy

TBA at a later date


Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award

Paul Dyck                          Steinbach Pistons
Blake Spiller                     Portage Terriers
Troy Leslie                        Virden Oil Capitals