Kuehn, Dalke, Whitecloud Named All-Stars

February 20th

Winnipeg, MB - Members of the Portage Terriers won five of six major awards, Manitoba Junior Hockey League Commissioner Kim Davis announced today. The MJHL also released its all-star teams today.

Heading the award winners was Terriers’ power forward Brad Bowles, who was named the MJHL’s most valuable player.  Currently, the 20-year-old from Elkhorn tops the MJHL scoring race with 96 points (40-56) in 56 games.

Other Terriers’ to win awards were Nick Henry, Brett Orr, Nathan Park and head coach Blake Spiller.

“Every player should be commended for their outstanding performance over the regular season,” said Davis. “Coaches of the league vote and make the selections. These selections are extremely difficult to make. The talent level in our league is reflective in how difficult it was to select these respective teams.”


MVP ─ Steve “Boomer”  Hawrysh Award

Brad Bowles, Portage Terriers

Rookie of the Year – Vince Leah Trophy

Nick Henry, Portage Terriers


Hockey Ability – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy

Dan Taillefer, Steinbach Pistons

Top Goaltender

Nathan Park, Portage Terriers


Top Defenseman – Brian Kozak Trophy

Brett Orr, Portage Terriers


Coach of the Year – Portage Terriers “ Muzz McPherson” Award

Blake Spiller, Portage Terriers




Goal Nathan Park Portage Terriers
Defense Brett Orr Portage Terriers
Defense Brady Keeper OCN Blizzard
Forward Brad Bowles Portage Terriers
Forward Logan Harland OCN Blizzard
Forward Tristan Keck Winkler Flyers




Goal Sean Kuehn Virden Oil Capitals
Defense Zach Whitecloud Virden Oil Capitals
Defense Zak Hicks Winkler Flyers
Forward Kamerin Nault Winnipeg Blues
Forward Daniel Taillefer Steinbach Pistons
Forward Tyler Penner Steinbach Pistons




Goal Emilien Boily OCN Blizzard
Defense Tyler Jubenvill Winkler Flyers
Defense Darby Gula Steinbach Pistons
Forward Nick Henry Portage Terriers
Forward Bennett Dalke Virden Oil Capitals
Forward Josh Tripp Swan Valley Stampeders


Each all-star winner will receive their award at their home rink over the next two weeks. The MJHL’s top scorer, who will be decided upon season’s end, will receive the Mike Ridley Trophy, named after the prolific goal scorer who starred with the St. Boniface Saints.