MJHL Awards Nominees


February 12th

Winnipeg, MB – Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards were announced today, with five members of the Portage Terriers ─ defending RBC Cup champions ─ having been nominated for awards.

“Each nominee should be extremely proud of their accomplishment and their excellence on the ice,” MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis said today. “The MJHL member clubs nominated players in each of the award categories. The voting for each award was done entirely by the head coaches.”

Winners will be honoured at a home game later this month, said Davis.

MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy

Tristan Keck Winkler Flyers
Brad Bowles Portage Terriers
Logan Harland OCN Blizzard


Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy

Nick Henry Portage Terriers
Bennett Dalke Virden Oil Capitals
Tyler Jubenvill Winkler Flyers


Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Memorial Trophy

Daniel Taillefer Steinbach Pistons
Cam Whyte Winkler Flyers
Devan Schram Virden Oil Capitals


Top Goaltender Award

Nathan Park Portage Terriers
Sean Kuehn Virden Oil Capitals
Roman Bengert Steinbach Pistons


Top Defenseman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy

Brady Keeper OCN Blizzard
Zach Whitecloud Virden Oil Capitals
Brett Orr Portage Terriers


Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award

Paul Dyck Steinbach Pistons
Ken Pearson Winkler Flyers
Blake Spiller Portage Terriers


The MJHL’s other major award, Top Scorer (Mike Ridley Trophy) will be announced upon the end of the regular season.