Greig Earns MJHL First Team All-Star

The Manitoba Junior Hockey League award winners and All-Star teams were announced on Friday morning and Jordan Greig was the lone Oil Capital on the list receiving recognition for his season.

The 20-year-old Souris product was named as a defenseman to the MJHL’s first team all-star lineup. Greig has 32 points (9 G, 23 A) in 48 games on the season to go along with 93 penalty minutes. The graduating defenseman has played his entire Junior A career for the Oil Caps, racking up team awards such as rookie of the year, top defenseman, and top defenseive player along the way. Greig was also recently named as a finalist for the Brian Kozak Trophy awarded to the league’s top defenseman. Brandon’s Tanner Jago, Captain of the league-leading Portage Terriers, was the recipient of this award and was also named to the MJHL first team all-star lineup alongside Greig.

Both Dylan Thiessen and Soren Frederiksen finished as finalists in their award category. James Shearer of the Steinbach Pistons won the Vince Leah Memorial Trophy as the league’s top rookie, while Elkhorn’s Brad Bowles of the Portage Terriers won the Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy as the player who best demonstrates overall hockey ability and sportsmanship.

The complete MJHL awards list is as follows.

MVP – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Award
Tristan Keck – Winkler Flyers

Rookie of the Year – Vince Leah Trophy
James Shearer – Steinbach Pistons

Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy
Brad Bowles – Portage Terriers

Top Goaltender
Nick Deery – Steinbach Pistons

Top Defenseman – Brian Kozak Trophy
Tanner Jago – Portage Terriers

Coach of the Year – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award
Blake Spiller – Portage Terriers

For the official MJHL press release and league all-star teams, please click here.

Congratulations to all the MJHL award winners and all-stars!